adplus-dvertising

Why Was Benzema’s Goal Flagged Offside? Rule Explained

Benzema slotted the ball into the net in the Champions League final in the box but the Frenchman’s goal was ruled offside.

Karim Benzema looked to have given the lead against Liverpool in the Champions League final before the assistant referee flagged the goal offside.

CHECK THIS👉🏼:   5 Players Who Are Rivals At Club Level But Play For The Same National Teams

In the 43rd minute, Benzema slotted the ball into the net after a defensive scramble in the Liverpool box but the Frenchman’s celebrations were cut short when the assistant raised his flag.

Video Assistant Referee (VAR) check took nearly two minutes before the assistant’s decision was upheld amid confusion among many regarding the offside law.

CHECK THIS👉🏼:   Firmino Sets New Record As He Joins Historic Liverpool Group With 20th Career Champions League Goal

The offside rule states that if the goalkeeper is the second-last opponent and you are behind him, you will be deemed as offside.

However, if there are two players behind the goalkeeper, you will only be offside if you are ahead of the second-last opponent.

CHECK THIS👉🏼:   “Where is Son” - Football Fans Blast PFA For Excluding Heung-Min Son From Team of the Year

 

 

(Visited 18 times, 1 visits today)

Shop Sneakers & Kicks

Leave a Reply