7 countries that have been banned from playing in the FIFA World Cup

In the light of the news that Ecuador could be kicked out of the upcoming , we look back at seven other countries that have been banned from the tournament.

After Ecuador secured their place in the 2022 World Cup, the Chilean Football Association made an official complaint to FIFA in April, claiming that Byron Castillo used a fake birth certificate and was an illegal immigrant.

The Chilean FA stated that Castillo was born in Colombia in 1995, instead of Ecuador in 1998 shown on his documents.

Now, according to the Daily Mail, a report has been published proving Castillo was in fact Colombian.

As a result of this, Ecuador could be booted out of the World Cup, which is set to get underway in November. An official decision is expected on Thursday.

With Ecuador facing an early exit, we look back at seven other countries that have been banned from football’s most prestigious tournament.

Germany and Japan – 1950 World Cup

After the 1942 and 1946 editions of the World Cup were cancelled due to World War II, the tournament returned in 1950.

But Germany and Japan were not allowed to be involved due to the result of the second World War.

Uruguay were the winners, with second, Sweden third and Spain fourth.

South Africa – 1970 – 1990 World Cups

During the apartheid in South Africa, they were faced with multiple international boycotts. FIFA had suspended them in 1963, and eventually expelled in 1976.

South Africa are the last African country to host the tournament, having hosted the 2010 edition.

Mexico – 1990 World Cup

Mexico were banned for two years by FIFA after they fielded four players that were above the age limit.

The incident happened during the qualifying round of the world junior tournament.

The 1990 World Cup was won by West Germany, having they beat Argentina in the final. Italy and England were third and fourth respectively.

Chile – 1994 World Cup

Chilean keeper Roberto Rojas pretended to be hurt by a flare thrown by a fan during his country’s clash against Brazil in 1989.

In truth, he used a hidden blade in his glove to cut himself, as a result, FIFA banned Chile from the 1994 tournament. Rojas was banned for life.

Myanmar – 2006 World Cup

Myanmar pulled out of a qualifying match for the 2002 World Cup which was scheduled to be played in Iran.

They were fined 23,500 dollars by FIFA and were banned from the 2006 edition of the tournament, which was held in Germany.

Russia – 2022 World Cup

After their invasion of Ukraine, they were condemned by many countries around the globe.

FIFA decided the Russia football team were to be banned from participating in the World Cup.

The first match of the 2022 World Cup will kick off on 20 November.

Shop Sneakers & Kicks

(Visited 38 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply